Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone, excited to kick off my first build.

I’m an industrial designer, currently working in footwear design so I’m coming at this project through that lens.

I've got a bit of experience working on cars (Honda Element gang!) but this will be my most in depth project yet.

First question: should i buy CBR929rr forks + triple for $125? I’ve been waffling on whether to do a fork swap and just got a lead on these. Found some threads debating whether it was worth the work vs gsxr forks, but seemed to imply part of that decision was the price. Is $125 cheap enough to outweigh the work?

Second: I’ve searched through a lot of threads about rear shocks and want to make sure I get one that raises the rear end, not lower it. Seems like the R1 is a favorite but lowers the rear ended by about a half inch. Any close to bolt-on solutions that will definitely raise the rear?

Here are a few pictures to start off, thanks! Also selling a few parts, look here and let me know if you’re from these boards, I’ll reduce prices). Craigslist

·
Registered
36 Posts
Hey there. Fellow ID guy, and GL500 hacker. I cannot vouch for the ride quality but I just installed the following based on another thread on this forum. It is about 15-20 mm longer eye to eye, but I think it may have more sag than the stock air oil strut. I paid around $50-60 shipped, eBay listed as:
"2000 Honda CBR600 F4 H576-1. rear mono shock suspension and mounts linkage"
. I did an 85 GSXR front end bc I had it sitting around, the 18" wheel looks similar to the stock rear, and it just took a couple of vernier caliper measurements and an email to all balls to find the right set of bearings (~$80 I think).
$125 is a pretty good deal for USD forks, but you may need to shim the wheel or make an axle if you try to use the stock wheel

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
254 Posts