Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings! Newbie here, both to this forum and Honda street bikes. Grew up with Honda; QA-50, Z-50, CT70, SL70, you get it. So my friend purchased this bike, a 1983 GL650i (Burgundy) from a gentleman in Canada for what the thought to be a fair/bargain price-it did not run. No problem-"my friend (yours truly) can fix anything." I joined the forum, diagnosed the problem(s) as a bad kill switch (rendered operable,) a bad starter relay/solenoid (replaced successfully.) A new battery and the starter ground mod/starter rebuild rendered the starter operable and fast. I took apart and cleaned the carbs, put in some new fuel and voila! It started and ran, though it did not want to idle. So today, I changed oil/filter, bled new brake fluid in and started it...It turned and tried to catch, but then I realized the fuel petcock was closed. I opened it and VOILA! it started and ran again but it did not want to idle. Which brings us current. I again tried to start the bike but, unlike previous attempts, where staying on the starter button caused the engine to slowly come to life (put-putout-putputput) on half choke with a bit of throttle, THIS TIME, when the engine started its put-putout, the starter pulled away and would not continue. Every time, now, when the engine finally starts to catch, the starter pulls away with a strange sound at disengagement, like spinning freely, and with a clatter as it stops and appears to re-engage for the next attempt. So I'm not sure if it is a starter (or maybe that starter-clutch thing I've seen referenced,) or a fuel delivery scenario-or both? Clearly, something isn't right because, after all, its a Honda and should start right away. Note that when I did have it running, if only for 5 minutes, once it got off-idle, it revved nicely, cleanly. I didn't go high into RPM range because I only just learned that the bike hadn't run in 10 years. (Think my friend fig