Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

This is my first forum post so forgive me if I make any rookie mistakes. I am also new to the world of motorcycles. I recently acquired an 1981 Honda Silverwing rocking the GL500. It was running great until recently. I will tell you every detail I know just in case something stands out. It was running great until a few weekends ago. I changed the battery and also attempted to change the oil. I drained the oil, but I wasn't able to free the bolt for the oil filter. It stripped and rounded off. I went ahead and put new synthetic oil in just to simply get me to a shop to free the stripped bolt. So there is new synthetic oil with an old (probably conventional) oil filter. I include this info just in case it pertains to my actual problem.

Anyway...I took it to a shop who told me I'd save money if I ordered the bolt myself and brought it back. I agreed, so drove it home to do so. It was about a 30 min drive back home. It ran great all the way to the shop and almost all the way home. About 25 min in to the ride home, as I was accelerating, the engine began to lose power as I used the throttle and started to slow down and continued to lose power. I got it off the road and before I even stopped, the engine cut off. I let it cool off for about 10 minutes. I was then able to start it back up and get it home. As I pulled back on to my road (another 3 or 4 min down the road) it lost power again and died as I slowed to a stop. My dad (before he gave it to me) told me he thought it could be overheating. The temp gauge would apparently go to red rather quickly. The temp gauge stopped working for me so it always stays on cold.