Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
967 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that I am fully legal, and have tasted highway speeds up to 70mph...I have reached a new limit/comfort level.

Well I have to say after riding on the highway for the first time, I sort of felt like I did when I started riding on the road. My 'sphere' of what's going on around me felt very small. The mirrors seemed to be very small, and there was so much to pay attention to. It was very windy as well, so it probably wasnt the best day to go on the freeway. I think I did fine, but just felt like I was at my limit for right now in terms of my ability.

We have country roads that get up to 55/60mph, and I feel a bit more comfortable there. There just seems to be so much more to pay attention to, and the dynamics of Highway riding are certainly a challenge for a light bike, no fairing, windsheild etc. My leather jacket is HEAVY, but it is baggy and not really a 'riding' jacket per-say...maybe that is all that I need to make a difference.

One specific question I had involves lane position...normally solo in the city I guard the left side of my lane...Not sure due to wind that is the best idea on the freeway. I felt most comfortable slightly left of the center of my lane...seems common sense but experience might prove otherwise.

Any thing you all can share would be much appreciated! The bike ran great, and above 6K is a dream--she only wanted more!

·
Registered
227 Posts
I prefer riding with a windshield and find it helps at speed.