Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 1982 GL500 Interstate with the full fairing and windshield plus hard bags. I was wondering what I should be looking at for revs on the highway with the setup that I have. I'm getting pretty much 1000 revs for every 10 mph, that is to say that 60 on the highway (level and straight) is just around 6K on the tach. 70mph is 6.5 to 7K, etc. I didnt know if this was normal or maybe a little over what I should be expecting. The bike doesnt seem to be struggling and has power to spare (can pass/go uphill). Also, these observations are with one rider (about 190lbs with gear on), and maybe a few pounds of luggage (backpack for lunch for work). Tires are all up to pressure also.

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm brand new to the GLs and bikes in general. My bike does have 71,000 miles on it, so I suspect it will run a little different than say someone with 20k on it. It will make crusing a lot more enjoyable if I know I'm not stressing out my bike by taking it on the highway and running up the revs.

·
Super Moderator
15,417 Posts
6.5 to 7K is where it starts to get good and travels just fine. It also seems like the bikes balance themselves off around there taking the vibrations out of the system some.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I just took my first decent ride today and was also curious about the RPM at highway speeds.

It seems that 6000 is about 65 mph which had me wishing for another gear. However the vibrations had to do more with the poor road surfaces, once I got on some smooth freeway the bike seemed really smooth at 6000 RPM.

On the rough road the bike seemed really smooth at 5500 RPM.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·