Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to the forums with posting however I have been coming here for a few years to reference I formation and research as well as look at others builds, have always found this to be a very welcoming community. So with that here is my first post and problem: I currently have a 1980 Honda cx500 custom(I believe, will have to double check), Mac 2 Into 1 exhaust with a cherry bomb muffler(2"in2"out I believe,used motomucci build as reference) with a silencer fabricated by my mechanic. Carbs were rebuilt April 1 1/2 years by my mechanic. I have since replaced the float bowl gaskets and the fuel connector rod o rings. The carbs are clean I have just serviced my throttle assembly, throttle cables, and choke cable. The problem I am having is my engine idle is too high. The bike fires fine, choke is pushed all the way in, no tension on the throttle, and the bike revs as if I'm giving it half throttle. I don't have a tac, just a speedo, and I have tried turning the idle speed adjustment screw(black plastic knob), and this does nothing, unless its almost tightens all the way in and the bike revs even higher. I turned the knob the other way so much as it fell out, but does not drop idle. I tried taking all cables off(throttle and choke) and the bike still idles super high. Checked my seals on the boots, and everything looks good, I upgraded my boot clamps to a heavier duty version so I do not think it is coming from an air leak. Any thoughts? I'm really tired of these carbs and thinking of upgrading to the Murray kit soon if I can't get these working, but I was wondering if the battery would need to be remounted and the air box removed to use?

·
Registered
2,160 Posts
From what you say has been checked there has to be a vacuum port open. stuck carb butterfly or jammed linkage at the between the carbs