Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.

I bought my CX500 back 17 years ago from a family friend while I was a sophomore in college. I ran it for the next 5 years, about 1,000 miles a year. After that it got a lot more sporadic; next five years a total of 1,000 miles. Sadly, it's been sitting now for several years. I think the last time it was on the road and registered was 2015. I'll go outside and check tomorrow after I snowblow and comment below. I'll get the mileage then, too.

Anyway. The reason I'm here is someone that I've looked up to for the last 26 years just passed away, Neil Peart. I saw my first Rush concert in 1994 when I was 13 and they blew my mind. Over the years I've continued to be a fan of him and the band. If you're familiar, Neil was an avid motorcyclist, including taking a 55,000 mile ride to heal from the deaths of his daughter and wife.

I've been having a tough time with his passing, because it was so sudden and unexpected, but also because he was almost superhuman.... a philosopher, musician, and writer. One of the things he was often quoted as saying is "Whats the most excellent thing I can do today?" From his death and my own personal lull, that's why I'm here. Its time to get the old bike back out, and ride for myself and in memory of my departed teacher Neil.

The bike was always in a garage until this last summer when I got a wild hair and pulled it out of storage and brought it home. It's since been under a tarp below the overhang of the garage. The bike ran when parked (in 2015-ish) , but, not that well. For the last couple years I was riding it, it only ran well if I had the choke pulled out a little bit.