Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm a pretty skilled painter, but never got too much into the 2 tone or graphic stuff... so i'm looking for all the more skilled guys out there that can give me some insight.

i want to paint my tank in a 2 tone... but i'd like to do the tank in a high gloss base/clear and the accents in matte or satin finish. what is the best way to achieve this?

i have been told that it is easiest to paint the tank all base/clear, then tape off and scuff the areas i want matte and spray a few coats. my concerns are the obvious. how do i avoid getting jagged lines? will a fine line tape help avoid this? how do i avoid getting an awkward edge? at what point do i pull the tape? do i wait for it to fully cure before removing it, or just wait until flashing??

like i said, i've painted a ton, just nothing like this. any help would be hugely appreciated!

·
Registered
999 Posts
The plastic trim tapes are your friend for getting a crisp edge. Sometimes I will use 1/4" or wider pinstriping tape from 3M then use the plastic auto tape for painting to help prevent bleeds.

Spraying a thin coat of clear along your tape edge can give you a good seal to prevent bleeds and let it flash off before spraying your color...

If you are going to mask over an already painted area, it will need to be cured and hardened up before masking to prevent any lifting has been my experience. Masking over fresh paint is a dangerous gamble.

I've generally waited until it has flashed and started to cure before carefully removing the tape.

Try to avoid having paint build up against your taped edge as it will form a ridge.

I've seen some folks pinstripe over the two color edges to hide any blemish...it can work but a really professional looking paint job has that sharp crisp edge between the two colors.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·