Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I am a newb at bikes as a matter of fact this one is my first one, and I am trying to get it up and running, I have the engine almost done, waiting for a new air filter which should be in on monday but the front Caliber is frozen. The front brake lever is also not budging. An help or suggestions?

thanks

John

·
Super Moderator
11,455 Posts
It sounds like you will need to take the caliper assembly off and give it a good soaking in brake cleaner. If the lever is tight, you will probably need to rework the master cylinder as well. A full overhaul is on the list here. You can do a search for caliper and master and find a lot that way.

If you don't have a factory service manual, you can find it in the Quick Reference, or in Blindstitches' signature line.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Tell us a little more about what you are fighting, John. Do you have the caliper off the bike and can't push out the piston with the brake lever? If that is the case, you have some serious blockage or binding somewhere. I'm just guessing, but the brake lever probably applies several hundred to a thousand pounds of outward pressure on the piston when squeezed hard. If that doesn't pop out the piston not much will.

If you don't have the caliper off, take it off and hold it above a catch pan. If your caliper has two pistons, insert a paint stirring stick inside to prevent one piston coming out before the other one moves out. I would also wrap a shop towel over the caliper, as you may get some squirting of fluid when the piston comes out.

Thanks for setting up your profile correctly and welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
3,535 Posts