Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total beginner to owning and fixing motorcycles, so go easy on me!!

My headlight doesn't work(multimeter was reading that it was pushing 6v, now it says 3.something v). My starter cranks ok the first shot, then cranks slow, then not at all.. just click, click. I'm wondering if these things are related and what possible solutions may be.

Thanks!

·
Registered
94 Posts
Is your battery fully charged? That is where I would start with the starter issue. Once thats solved, then try the headlight. I think they are unrelated outside of the headlight may actually be coming on but its just not getting enough juice to fully light up and then does not look like its on, hence your 3volts....... Get the battery on a charger, thats where I would start.

Give a better story on the bike, how long has it sat and not been run?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Its got a new battery and the battery is reading around 13.5 volts in idle(it was starting slow, but starting, up until this morning).

I just bought the bike a few weeks ago. The guy I bought it from had it for about 9 years, but had only driven it 50 miles in the last 3 years. It needed a new battery at the time, but fired up fine for the test drive after having sat on a charger. Once I got it home, I realized the headlight was out. The bulb was black so I figured it was just a burnt out bulb. Not wanting to spend a lot on a new sealed beam unit, I bought a 12v h4 bulb made for ATVs and did surgery on my sealed beam unit, replacing the old bulb with the new one. That's when I realized the new bulb wasn't coming on and tested the connection point.

I used contact cleaner on the light switch area and the starter switch, to no avail. As I was trying to get her to start, I noticed that the taillight indicator would come on and shut off sporadically.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·