Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys!

Nick the Newbie here! I'm looking at getting my first ever motorcycle (quarter-life crisis or whatever). Little about me, I've always been a car guy, mostly Euro things, and now have a cursed Focus ST, and an E30 M50 swap project. I've been wanting to get to riding for basically as long as I can remember, and no time like quarantine to do so. I've come across a great deal on an already mostly Cafe'd 1981 CX500D that would definitely be a project for sure. I met the seller today, and he's very upfront about everything going on and from the sound of it it doesn't seem like too much work to get it in riding condition, but I'd love some recommendations from the vets here.

Starting with the good:
  • New rear tire
  • New looking rear suspension
  • New front fork seals
  • Rebuilt carbs
  • Recent coolant flush
  • Only $800, with a clean title which seems to be rare in my price range
Things that need work:
  • Most glaring is that the owner says that it starts and runs fine in 1st gear, but stalls once you shift up to second. He had some recommendations to install larger fuel jets (included with the purchase). Definitely a strange thing happening there, and I should note that I do have mechanical experience, but not on motorcycles, and ESPECIALLY not with carbs, so I'm a little lost. It does sort of sound like a fuelling issue, but maybe something to do with the shift linkage?
  • No run/kill switch - Universal switch is included
  • No speedometer or guages of any sort - Previous owner cut the wire. I would love to take this as an opportunity to go with a single combo/digital gauge if that's a thing. My research has only turned up universal ones that are suspiciously cheap. Any nudges in the right direction there would be much appreciated