Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 175 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,
Brand-spankin noobie here, and starting my 1st ever motorcycle rebuild. I'm mechanically inclined...(I'm a helicopter mechanic by trade)...just never tore down a bike. This seems like a good place to start, as there's a ton of very knowledgeable folks on here and most really want to help. I'll be picking the collective brain here and trying to learn as much as I can.

I just picked up a 1980 Honda CX500 Deluxe off CL for $160. Yep...$160. Couldn't pass it up for that! The goal is to completely tear it down and customize/rebuild it into a scrambler/tracker type. No rush here, I've got a lot to learn. I assume this project will take me years...as the funds and knowledge are acquired.

I think I'm gonna call this one "Gordita"...loosly translated means "Chubby Girl" (affectionately).