Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello folks! I've just made a terrible, wonderful mistake. I'm buying a Craigslist CX500, 1981, with a pile of bodywork and a parts bike alongside.

Have I ever owned a motorcycle? Nope.
Have I ever ridden a motorcycle? Only on the back.
Do I even have a driver's license? Oh hell no! I bicycle everywhere!

Everyone laughing yet? Any heads shaking?

So WHY in the world do I think I can do this?

>I love to do things with my hands, and I'm pretty good at it.
>I have a garage to work in, and some of the tools it will require.
>I don't care if the rebuild takes 5 years.
>after working for years with Victorian homes in and around Sacramento, I am familiar with wood working, plumbing, wood rot, electrical, metal grinding, painting, wood rot, custom design, creative solutions, and wood rot. The CX500 is mostly made of wood, right? What?
> I am a friend of brilliant artist Gale Hart, and she's willing to teach me to weld. Seriously, check out her sculpture...this is not weak, artsy-welding. She's the real deal.
>I've been building up bicycles for years, including a Cannondale Super-V suspension bike with Marzocchi front fork, Fox rear shock, Magura hydraulic brakes, custom LED lighting front and rear, and a seat upholstered with brown leather from a friend's old jacket. Boy was he mad. Nah, he gave it to me. Honest.
Here's a progress shot from that build, it's been finished since but I haven't any current shot

It's a strange and wonderful ride, and gets questions and comments everywhere I take it.

After discovering and devouring most of the Silodrome blog, and then reading huge lolloping chunks of this forum, I think I have fallen in love with the CX500.