Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working on my GL500 for a couple of years. I've had it running for the last year or so and start it up every few weeks. No problem, even in the cold of the winter. I recently took it in for a safety inspection, the last step before I licence and insure it. I had a list of minor issues which have mostly been corrected. The other day, after putting a spot of weld on the front steering stop; it was allowing the triple tree clamp to touch the tank on full lock left, I started the bike and it ran for a few seconds the cut out. It would not restart, even with a boost. I tried again today, no go. It gave a couple of hints of firing but only after prolonged cranking.

There is fuel in the tank and fuel came out when I loosened the left carb bowl drain plug. Even with a shot of starting ether the bike would not fire. There is spark from the plug wire to frame when I test for spark. The valves, at least on the left side are moving and there is compression on that side. I have fuel, spark and compression but something isn't right. Any ideas?

·
Super Moderator
11,455 Posts
I'd take a look at the wiring up near the head stock for anything that may have been disturbed during your welding. I was going to say check the kill switch, but I think you would not get spark if that were off. Check for ground connections, and possible shorts.

·
Super Moderator
23,741 Posts
What type of welder? Arc welding can destroy items like alternators on cars if they are connected during the work. Not saying this IS your problem but I'd carry out the relevent tests to at least rule this out as a cause.

·
Super Moderator
5,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I used a MIG welder. The ground clamp was near the head stock. The battery still holds a charge and turns the engine over well. There is a healthy spark. I need to check the spark timing.

·
Registered
226 Posts