Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
anyone have any info what the timing plug / breather looks like or where it go's ? mine was deleted & oil leaks out of caps

what air box breather tube doe's it hook into , any one have a pic ?

u can e mail me if need'd

newbie here - i need help - thanks R.Mello

·
Super Moderator
15,414 Posts
There should be a cap on the inspection area. That's the way they came into the US/north america.

There are two hoses. One connected to each head that meets under the carbs in a T and then goes from there to the airbox on the right side.

If your cap is leaking you might need a new oring or the cap is cracked.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the digram, i have new caps (no plug hole) on timing inspection cap, i'm getting oil blow by at the caps, only about 40k on eng, not ridden hard, air box NEVER has any oil in it, all oem but seems to have a 1980 block (early eng # 2116724_ its a 82 gl500i, left over block ? has not been changed / swapped.

honda had a recall in 80 about this oil issue, they had a diff breather cap #12361-415-610 installed to release some crank pressure with a t fitting.

part is NLA no info from honda (local) bike too old they say get a new 1, I DONT THINK SO !

i'll re ck my crank & head breather pipes.

i think the head plugs were installed #90547-415-305 but not the t cap, breather hole cap , so i get oil blow by, might have to make my own.

any info about this oem mod ? what size hole & tube ?

thanks for the help

·
Super Moderator
15,414 Posts
Ok I'm having trouble following this. By mistake I put up cx500 diagrams that have out vents in the heads. If I remember right the inspection cover is screwed down, the head vents were eliminated and there is a crank case vent that plugs into the back of the engine.

You're in Florida right. Because if sp hill fla is anywhere but north america things were done differently.