Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have rebuilt my MC, cleaned it up....and yes, I have cleaned that little hole where the returning fluid comes through. It is very small though, I could not find anything this small to poke through....and I am doing my carburetor a la Larry's instruction. When I hit the hole with the carb spray nozzle, I could see fine mist coming out the other side. In my world that means "clean passage". Anyways, when put all together the piston doesn't retract. First, I thought it is the piston causing trouble. So I pumped it out as far as I could without popping it out and cleaned it. Then was going to to push it back in with a C-Clamp and it wouldn't move. When I opened the bleeder nipple, it would slide back in. If I had not just cleaned that return hole in the MC I would have guessed to be the problem. Does anybody have an idea what it could be?

·
Registered
2,601 Posts
While I'm not a pro on brakes it does sound to me as if you need a set of caliper seals.

Odd thing about those, in time brake fuid absorbs water and oxygen and attacks them.

Just get them, Matt @ TAS probably has them with free shipping if you have a cell that can call non-800#'s. 2-3 days you'll have parts.

Can't be any different than rebuilding the caliper on a car. Clean the heck out of everything but don't introduce any scratches. Lube the heck out of the new seals with nothing but brake fluid then carefully and patiently guide them back into place.

·
Registered
3,771 Posts