Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After my last ride a few days ago, I reached down to feel my rotor and it was burning hot. Took the caliper off and noticed that the caliper piston dust cover was either worn or burned through. Got another one ($20.30!) and put it on today. In addition, I drained the system and ran everything through the ultrasonic cleaner. Rinsed and dried, I reassembled the system and bled the brake. Spun the front wheel and noted a great deal of drag. For what it's worth, I have a new USA Motorcycle Master Cylinder, a new braided brake line, a new caliper seal, and fairly new pads. Obviously the piston is not releasing properly. Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
When you had the caliper off, did you also remove the piston seal and completely clean out the sealing groove with a dental pick or other object. I would doubt that a sonic cleaner would touch that stuff that builds up in there. And a clean groove is important to the retraction of the piston. I assume you lubed the sliding pins in the caliper so that it can "float" on the mount.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When you had the caliper off, did you also remove the piston seal and completely clean out the sealing groove with a dental pick or other object. I would doubt that a sonic cleaner would touch that stuff that builds up in there. And a clean groove is important to the retraction of the piston. I assume you lubed the sliding pins in the caliper so that it can "float" on the mount.
I did clean the groove well. Surprisingly little was there. And yes, I also cleaned and re-lubed the sliding pins. Frustrating situation.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I did clean the groove well. Surprisingly little was there. And yes, I also cleaned and re-lubed the sliding pins. Frustrating situation.