Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a new Master Cylindar the other day, and I installed it. When I bought the bike, the old one was beyond repair, so I never messed with the front brakes. I took the caliper off and cleaned it up. I pushed the piston in, it was tough, but it moved. It was similar to a car's piston. I put new brake pads on, re-installed the caliper, then bled the brakes. Now, the front wheel will not turn. The caliper does not free up at all when the brake lever is not being depressed. What would be the cause of this?

·
Premium Member
2,510 Posts
Crack open the bleeder screw to release the pressure. If it is still locked up, the caliper is not releasing properly.

If removing the pressure causes it to unlock, it could be a blocked return hole inside the master cylinder. A blocked line is also possible.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Crack open the bleeder screw to release the pressure. If it is still locked up, the caliper is not releasing properly.

If removing the pressure causes it to unlock, it could be a blocked return hole inside the master cylinder. A blocked line is also possible.

Thanks. I'll try this tonight.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I did this test and it is the caliper. Since this bike sat uncovered for 20+ years, I suppose it makes sense. I was just hoping one item on the bike would not need rebuilt. So I disassembled the caliper last night, all except for the piston that would not come out. I cleaned it in my ultrasonic cleaner a few cycles. The piston still would not budge. I then soaked it in PB Blaster for an hour, and still nothing. I then switched to CLR for a few hours, and nothing. I went back to PB Blaster and let it soak over night. I will try it when I get home from work. I did not have any diesel on hand, and I was too lazy to go get any last night. If it does not come out this evening, I will go get some diesel.