Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Two years ago, I took in a CX500D in trade with a KZ550 for a Yamaha WR400F. Neither of the bikes were running. I got the CX running first. It was the most peculiar bike I have ever seen. Memories of motorcycles through the years did not include the CX's. Somehow, I can not ever remember seeing them until I had mine. Once running, I experienced what I now know is the usual in bringing one of these beauties back to life. First running only on one cylinder. Then following much work as a novice, I got both firing. But then I was burdened with the around 5000 rpm sputtering and bogging down. I went several rounds with the local backyard motorcycle mechanic. Paid him to rebuild the carbs, etc. No luck. He started talking about a CDI box and I could not seem to locate one. In hindsight, I now believe he did not actually rebuild the carbs. The right cylinder was constantly wet with gas on plug inspection despite good spark. The result, I wound up selling one of the most comfortable bikes ever ridden for my build.

My first CX500

Then I wound up on a pristine Honda Shadow that I feel like I got for a steel. Great bike, never had any issues with it. Rode it 10,000 in the year I owned it.