Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all,

im new to the bike world. i just got a 79 cx500 and after recently getting it tuned up and running beautifully, im having a serious problem. the gears wont shift out of neutral!!

ive taken it back to the shop and they say its not a clearance or clutch issue. and as its the start of the season they dont have the time or space to drop the engine and find out what the problem is.

so looks like im going to do the investigating myself. ive never done anything like this. any advice before i make serious mistakes would be very appreciated. i have the clymers manual and a mechanical mind but no experience.

please help.

thank you.

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
More information please.

Does the shift lever move? Has someone had the rear cover off recently? Is the shift lever bent and interfering with something? If the shift lever moves, does it spring back? Is the drive shaft connected?

Put the bike on the center stand, rotate the wheel and shift (engine off) to see if anything engages.

·
Registered
640 Posts
Had the bike been shifting decently up until recently?

A couple of years ago, I suddenly had a no shift condition on an '82 CX500 that I used to own. The problem on that bike was that a piece of the cam chain tensioner had broken off and strategically wedged itself underneath the sector gears of the shift mechanism. To repair the problem, I had to pull the motor and remove the rear engine cover. So in my case there was nothing wrong with the shift mechanism or transmission but just a piece of junk blocking motion.

In your case, I'd put the bike up on the centerstand and then yank the shift lever up and down by hand. You don't need to pull in the clutch while trying to get the shifter to move. Sometimes mechanisms jam and jiggling frees them up.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Dash!