Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ended up lucking my way into getting a 1980 CX500 for free. I have spent the last few weeks reading about different custom builds people have done on these and figured it would be a really cool project to take on.

I have never done a motorcycle build before but I am pretty mechanically inclined and am an engineer for my day job. I am in the DFW area and any advice for a first time builder or in general for rebuilding CX500's would be greatly appreciated.

Forgive the messy garage. Just moved into a new house a while back and haven't fully gotten that in working order.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,717 Posts
Welcome, Ted!
That looks to be fairly complete. Did you get the radiator with it?
The best advice that can be given is to make it roadworthy first. Then, ride it for a while to get a feeling for what you want to retain and what you might want to change. You might even find that you like it as it is.
If you jump right in, chasing a particular look, it will only lead to disappointment. You want a customized bike that fits YOU, not one that merely looks like everyone else's.

Randall

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome, Ted!
That looks to be fairly complete. Did you get the radiator with it?
The best advice that can be given is to make it roadworthy first. Then, ride it for a while to get a feeling for what you want to retain and what you might want to change. You might even find that you like it as it is.
If you jump right in, chasing a particular look, it will only lead to disappointment. You want a customized bike that fits YOU, not one that merely looks like everyone else's.

Randall
Thanks Randall. It did not come with a radiator nor a battery.

·
Super Moderator
14,074 Posts