Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a 1982 GL500 for 600. Already half way built into the cafe that I envisioned. I’m fairly savvy in electrical and mechanical as I am a technician. The guy before me got the bike and never finished it. He did some kind of janky wiring work with the ignition system. I’m attempting to get it to crank. The starter turns if I bypass everything and just hook it up to power and ground, my ignition switch has power and ground. Battery is good, only thing I have left is the starter solenoid. I’m fairly certain that the solenoid is bad but would like some confirmation. If I hook up everything like it should be and instead of hooking up the power that goes to the starter to the solenoid, if I put it directly to the battery it will crank. Otherwise it won’t crank.

·
Super Moderator
22,553 Posts
follow the solenoid wires down to the plug under the battery and unplug it. Direct from the battery positive run a rire to the yellow/red wire and from the negative to the green/red.

The motor should crank. If not the solenoid {or battery} are fubar.

Do you have a multimeter?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I just got a 1982 GL500 for 600. Already half way built into the cafe that I envisioned. I’m fairly savvy in electrical and mechanical as I am a technician. The guy before me got the bike and never finished it. He did some kind of janky wiring work with the ignition system. I’m attempting to get it to crank. The starter turns if I bypass everything and just hook it up to power and ground, my ignition switch has power and ground. Battery is good, only thing I have left is the starter solenoid. I’m fairly certain that the solenoid is bad but would like some confirmation. If I hook up everything like it should be and instead of hooking up the power that goes to the starter to the solenoid, if I put it directly to the battery it will crank. Otherwise it won’t crank.