Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
being a complete newb to the hobby, I custom ordered "carb rebuild kits' from the local bike shop. at $25.00 a pop, each comes with 2 gaskets, nothing more. Having told them it's a double carb, they got me 2 (x2) of these gaskets. Nothing else. Upon rebuilding today, I realized these gaskets are minimal what I could have got in a "kit" - and looking (now) on ebay, seems there are rebuild kits w/gaskets O-rings, float valve assembly, float needle, main jet and pilot jet, etc for +/- $50 on ebay (for complete)

now, being a "custom order" they probably won't take back the carb kits. So, basically, I paid $50 for 2 gaskets.

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
I think I would speak with a manager. That was a poor direction the staff sent you in. A shop should ask what you are doing and make some suggestions. Your order and "demands" are always the last word, but if you went in there and said "I'm rebuilding some carbs, do you guys have a kit?" and they gave you gaskets, well, that's just poor advice.

Sorry, I'd feel ripped off too.

·
Super Moderator
15,416 Posts
It happens. If you don't know exactly what your talking about and talking to a person that knows what they're talking about who knows what could happen.

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here is what you want.http://www.randakks.com/CX500 and Variants Page.htm

Add Larry's Carb book and you'll be running great in no time.

already got it, it's a great book. I got a progress thread ovr in tech help.

I think I would speak with a manager. That was a poor direction the staff sent you in. A shop should ask what you are doing and make some suggestions. Your order and "demands" are always the last word, but if you went in there and said "I'm rebuilding some carbs, do you guys have a kit?" and they gave you gaskets, well, that's just poor advice.

Sorry, I'd feel ripped off too.