Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
1978 Honda CX500
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! This is my first post on this forum so forgive me if I do anything wrong. I am also extremely new to motorcycles, so my knowledge may be limited so forgive me for that as well. I do have some experience with engines from my engineering degrees, but nothing very hands on. I am a huge fan of the forum and it's helped me immensely so far with the project. Sorry for long explanation but figure its best to be detailed and explain everything I've done to eliminate tests I've already performed.

Recently I have decided to work on a 1978 Honda CX500 standard that my grandfather acquired in that same year. The last registration was from 1981 and the bike only has 1500 miles on it and seemed in decent shape. I've started doing some work on the bike (repainting parts and cleaning, getting a new battery, beginning to modify rear frame and have spent a good bit of money on new parts). Obviously I should not have done this before making sure the bike was running well but here we are. At this point I've spent 10s of hours on researching as well as money on parts so I would like to continue the project. My grandfather also assured me that the bike should be able to run and in good condition before starting.