Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1982 Honda silverwing gl500
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all! I've been a part of this forum for about a year now and it's helped me in many ways. Going into this winter I've decided to take apart the engine of my 1982 Honda silverwing GL500. I rode it all summer and it's time to give the engine what it desperatly needs. I am a beginner and this motorcycle is now part of the family, I simply love it! My first question is where can I find a rebuild kit for all the gaskets, o-rings, springs and whatever else I will need to put the engine back together properly. Keep in mind I'm taking the entire engine apart and having a blast doing it. Thank you and I'm glad I've found the right place.

P.S. my email is [email protected]
Feel free to contact me

·
Registered
2,229 Posts
Hello to all! I've been a part of this forum for about a year now and it's helped me in many ways. Going into this winter I've decided to take apart the engine of my 1982 Honda silverwing GL500. I rode it all summer and it's time to give the engine what it desperatly needs. I am a beginner and this motorcycle is now part of the family, I simply love it! My first question is where can I find a rebuild kit for all the gaskets, o-rings, springs and whatever else I will need to put the engine back together properly. Keep in mind I'm taking the entire engine apart and having a blast doing it. Thank you and I'm glad I've found the right place.

P.S. my email is [email protected]
Feel free to contact me
Hi Welcome,
(Aftermarket) Gasket kits are available but the head gaskets for these are lacking-Use OEM/Murrays carbs sourced.
When you mention springs are there any you are referring to?? Many of these are still available OEM.

Cheers

Edit: For parts other than seals/gaskets/o-rings my advice would be replace only what is out of spec.....

·
Registered
1978 CX500 "The Grub", 1983 GL650I "Nimbus"
11,198 Posts