Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok im new to bikes but not mechanics or electrical systems. I recently purchased a cx 500 custom 1979 model. It ran but missed on the right side cylinder until about 4500rpm. I changed the carbs out with a good known set and the problem got better but still missed at idle. Also the battery keeps going dead and now wont start. I changed the fuse holder next to the battery (thirty amp) and still wont charge and it stoped starting even with a charged battery. I also changed the coils and the spark plugs. Changed the black box under the seat(some kind of computer) and the entire bracket on the right side of the battery (little finned aluminum box, fuse holder, starter sylinoid?) still wont start. So I droped the engine out to change the stator. I have four spare engines with little quirks of their own and I need to find a way to test the stator off of the bike so I dont accidentaly put a bad one in. I dont want to put the engine back in and have to take it out again. Also I intend to do the cx "triple bypass" while I have it out. Judging by the effects of the bike do you think it is even the stator? Im at my wits end.

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Hi, welcome to the forum.

There is a 3 yellow wire connector that comes from the stator,,this is from the charging windings on the stator and is what charges the battery,,to test this part of the stator see this page at DaveF's site, the part you want is the "stator resistance checks". This page is for a gl but the charging system is the same.

To test the rest of the stator see this page at sheps site,,, and this diagram

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi, welcome to the forum.