Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3,612 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took the 500T to West Coast Moto Jam yesterday at Infineon Raceway, and went through a few drag runs.

Walking into the thing, I figured the bike itself with just about any idiot at the helm should be able to pull a 13.5 second quarter.

Boy was I wrong.

Drag racing is a whole freaking other set of conditions that the average rider just does not prepare for.

The things we take for granted, like taking off, shifting, reaction times, are all ridiculously integrated into the sport.

Here's my awakening:

I have never dragged before in my life, and I sucked worse than I ever imagined.

First practice run as a noob, I had no idea how the light tree worked. You know, you watch TV, you see three yellow lights sequentially counting down to green, then GO!

Nope, line up on the grid, get your four lights, wait a second, all three yellow on simultaneously, then green, oh CRAP! Time to go, (adrenaline) where's my shifter (more adrenaline), where's my clutch (more adrenaline), why isn't my bike moving yet????? WHEN IS THAT DAMNED TURBO GOING TO START SPOOLING (oh, there it is)

15.007 seconds and one missed shift later, it was over. Wow, that stank.

Second Run. Okay, I've got this. Clutch, 4k RPM, Three yellows, green, GO! Through all gears,

slightly over 14 seconds.

Bracket Decision. FFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!

Okay, 13.9.

I've got this.

First Run: 13.909 Win. Holy shit. I did it. I actually did it. Bike's still slower than it should be (or maybe it's me), but I nailed the bracket.

Second Run, or, "Where did this f***ing head wind come from?"

14.2something something. Lose. D'OH!

So, bear in mind everybody, when the stats say that the CX500 Turbo can do a 12.38 second quarter mile at 106, that is the fastest guy, with the fastest reaction time, the most perfect shifts, and a flawlessly running bike.

The reality is that most of us will never crack the 13 second mark.