Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I have had a couple bikes in the past including my cb750c. Since passing it along to my brother-in-law, I missed street riding. I was lucky that a buddy of mine sold me a cx650c. Now I have a project I can work on and enjoy on the street. To top it all off I came across the CX500Forum! I see that many people journal their builds on a thread and I thought it would be cool to do the same thing myself. I am also hoping that I could get some help and feed-back along the way. I am a complete noob that wants to get his feet wet and learn how to do this stuff. I have made some changes already and I will post some pictures up on another post. It was funny when I saw my bike on this CX500Forum thread talking about the pipes.

My cx650c has been modified to include parts from other Honda models. The following was copied from a RatBikeZone post by one of the previous owners (Big T) - V65 magna front end (4" over) with dual disc brakes, the carbs both have accelerator pumps, 1978 GL1000 rear fender attached to the swingarm, 8" of rear frame removed, hand made seat with ostrich vinal, leather side covers from an english saddle, full sized car battery, Z bars from a 1964 triumph chopper and hand made exhaust with swap meet mufflers. The paint is spray on bed liner.

y620cx.jpg

·
Registered
562 Posts
It has a full size car battery? That seems wrong. It's heavy, and about 3 times more cranking amps than stock. I think that will cause problems in the future, but I could be wrong. Bike looks pretty decent though, def something to build off of. I like the rims on the 650s.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Since I had it I have been back to the normal motorcycle battery. Another change was the stock bars on it. In the picture you see z-bars but when I purchased it the stocks were on it. I love the rims. I am thinking about painting them. what do you think? Black or Chrome?

·