Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I'm new to the forum and would appreciate any help you could give. I have an extensive background in vehicle repair. I was a mechanic at Honda (4 wheeled vehicles) for about 5 years and worked at other shops before I landed a really good position at my current job. I love to tinker and always have. I love motorcycles and have a passion for anything Honda. This being said I fell in love with the Cx500 platform a long time ago. I have always looked at these cafe builds and said, I'm going to build one. I found this bike below on ebay and ended up paying 700 for it and had it shipped across the US to FL not knowing if it ran or if it had any other issues. My main reason for buying this is that it looked as if someone was fixing it up and just stopped for some reason. Whether it be they got caught up with life or spent time on some other project this one got put on the back burner and I acquired it. There was still tape on tank from painting and a lot of the parts were marked with blue tape as to where they went. The listing noted that it was stuck in gear. I have had some experience in the past and know that if you take the rear cover off and stretch one of the shift springs it can cause this issue. I took a chance and hoped that the reason they stopped on this project is because they couldn't get it to shift, gave up and didn't want to pull the motor again. Knowing what I know I will pull the motor and see what the problem is. Regardless, I will have a running bike at sometime. Whomever had this bike spent a good bit of time on it. The tires are brand new (Still have blue and yellow paint stripes down the centers of the tires) The motor was painted, Frame completely painted, Bars replaced and it had other various upgrades.