Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have no experience with carburators, none, so I thought getting a rebuild kit would be a good first try at working on them, I thought I was doing everything right but obviously I was wrong, I would like to get a set of Murrays Carbs later on but I do not currently have the funds for that.
On to my problem, the bike would start easily with choke on but would not idle, I could ride it with the choke on slightly but if I came to a stop and the choke had slipped I had to pull the choke and restart. After a few hours on here I figured it was the idle jet that was my problem, so I got the rebuild kit. Everything went smooth except for the little plastic bushings that are in the upper housing, I cannot get them to push back in with an o-ring on, they wont fit. That could be my problem but I have never done this before. Any hints/tips/ or tricks to get the bushings in would be appreciated, and any suggestions on other things to check would be helpful. Thank you in advance!

·
Super Moderator
20,307 Posts
Try heating the O rings for the slide limiter caps in hot water and using a little silicon or rubber grease to fit them to the top of the slide.

Of course, in an aftermarket carb kit there is always the chance that they have supplied the wrong section O ring.

These don't actually seal, rather, they retain the limiter cap. If the old ones appear reusable this is an option.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok thanks, I'm going to pull them back off and put the o-rings on somehow or another, do you think that would be a cause of it not starting?

·
Super Moderator
20,307 Posts
Check that the jets are in the right spot. The larger one fits into the brass emulsion tube. Unless changed for pods they will be 112 or 115 and the smaller will be 78 and should be screwed direct into the carb body.

Have you verified fuel flow through the idle circuit?