Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

im really new to the this and i just picked up an '81 cx500 runs great everything works perfect. I got it with the intent to chop it into somewhat of a rat bike. Being new to this i have many dumb questions but i'd rather ask than do it and be sorry. first off the indicator light panel between the speedo and tach i want to remove this but im not all that good with wiring so my question is if i just simply cut the wires to it will the bike still run and do what its suppossed to do. also i want to change the headlight i saw there is a massive bundle of wires going into it is there a circuit box or something like that inside the head light that would make it difficult to change it to a new light. I know these are stupid questions but being 18 with limited knowledge id rather be safe than sorry. Thanks for the help

Seth

·
Registered
851 Posts
Yes the bike will run without any gauges, I currently do not have any of the OEM dash lights or gauges on my CX and it runs normally.

I prefer the term "Survival bike" which is a sub-catagory to "Rat bike" A Survival bike is the Mel Gibson Death Race 2000 type of vehicle ultra reliable, fail-safe, crash through barriers ready for all circumstances, industrial crude but an ultimately effective tool of life support and two wheeled transport. Phew, I'm all tired out just thinking about it. That was fun, Welcome to the board.

Cheers, 50gary

·
Registered
816 Posts
11seth,

Welcome to the forum! Remember, there are no dumb questions. Dumb answers...well, that's another story!

As mentioned the bike will run with out the lights. Note a few things you may want to think about - check with the schematic for clarity (you have a copy of it, right? Inquire within if you need it...it's available online):