Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 276 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, in 1982 I walked into a local Honda dealer here in Michigan and saw the most amazing bike - I couldn't take my eyes off it. 20 minutes later I was an owner. Zero miles. I couldn't really afford it but I bought it anyway. I rode it 12 years and put 14k on it. Great memories. My wife became gravely ill in 1994 and I parked it unable to risk riding while raising my kids and managing our new challenges. There it sat until December of 2016 when I decided - it was time. I pulled the cover off it - and what a mess it was. tires/brakes/gone. Brake fluid drained onto my perfect tank - now ruined. Tank had fuel in it - ugh.
I took it out and power washed it in the driveway it was so bad. I had originally planned to fix it as I went - then I saw the coolant puddle from you know where - pump seal. OK, a triple bypass - couldn't be too bad. I'm an automotive engineer and former dealer tech. But the more I got into it, I decided - total restoration time.

So here is where I am at. I had to make some decisions - museum concours resto - or - daily driver with modern upgrades. Bikes were made to be ridden, so here goes with my current plans.

As you all know, parts for these take time to acquire and are not always inexpensive.

Turbo was overhauled, hot side was ceramic coated, cold side powder coated.
Injectors cleaned, flow checked and balanced.
Rotors remachined using a patented process - they are beautiful
Tires replaced - I used Pirelli Sport Demons
Race tech fork tubes! I was lucky to get a new set. Bought emulators and springs as well.
Repainted frame, installed new steering head bearings and races. They were junk from sitting.
Bought new decal set from Bdesigns - parts going out for restore soon. Clear over decals planned.
I have what I think are now all the engine gaskets, seals including the copper exhaust sets out there.