Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Everyone,

My name is Michael and I recently acquired a 1980 CX500C. Looking to rebuild this into a café/brat build. Looking to document the process here and hopefully get some help from the community help me along.

I’ve been riding since 2011 with a cbr600f4i as my first bike. And have always been interested in doing up a custom ride. Last year my brother decided to get into it as well and that got me looking as well… I then discovered the cx500 with transverse V. Since then, I was drawn to it. I love how it hung from the frame and had a minimal look to it.

This will be a slow build as my time is limited while juggling a family with 2 kids. Also, I plan on doing things a bit backward. I would still like to ride the bike during the summer months so I’m going to tackle sections of the project in the offseason. I think by the end when I feel all my planned ideas are achieved, I would then so a full strip down and get everything property painted. Things such as the frame/engine/tank/wheels/etc

I'm gonna strat making plan and parts list that I'll need in the next few posts.

Michael

·
Registered
3,592 Posts
Welcome to this Forum . It can also be called a safe building site, where these bikes and fellowship amongst it's riders can be well constructed. Don't know how many miles on the odometer, or if any major maintenance was done by previous owner, but it sure looks like it has been well looked after. Enjoy the project, I am sure we all will do so , with you.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #4