Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I was putting my engine back together and tried to adjust the valves to see if they were correct. I went to turn the crank shaft by using the front of the shaft to get to TDC. I cannot get it to turn at all. I don’t know if I’ve missed something when putting the motor back together or if the pistons have locked up. I removed the heads and was expecting to see damage but I could find any. What could be preventing me from turning the engine over? Sorry if this is obvious but I’m still learning.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Just down for a triple bypass. replaced the needed items on the rear of the motor and that's all I got to. Trying to finish up and replace the back cover but once I saw that it wouldn't turn over I stopped and pulled the heads to see if the cylinders were damaged.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yes, it turned over. I had to turn it to get the timing marks lined up to replace the timing chain. I now have the rear cover off, the front cover off, and the cylinder heads removed.

·
Registered
5,988 Posts
If I recall correctly, I sent you the oil jet inside the front cover back in Sept?? So I assume you have also had the front cover off at some point. Did the crank turn back in Sept/Oct? If so is it possible you left something behind in the front that locked up the crank like a penny or washer?

Have no idea how you could damage pistons while doing a triple? Hope you have new head gaskets. Best to ask questions before making extra work. Follow the re-torque methods on re-install of heads.

·
Registered
331 Posts
You got my curiosity up. Be sure to post what you find. With both covers off and still stuck could something be haywire with the timing chain or oil pump chain? Is the flywheel still on?

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #10