Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2005 BMW R1200GS, 2003 Yamaha V-Star 1100, 2000 DRZ400, 1986 Honda Z50R, 1978 CX500
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Tire Wheel Fuel tank Automotive fuel system Vehicle

Hello! This is my very first post here, hailing from Boise, Idaho. My name is Alex, I'm an engineer who runs a firearms manufacturing business. I have always been a fan of everything on two wheels. I find motorcycles are like puppies. I want to adopt every single one of them.

This is my first attempt at a build like this. I'm sure I will have a lot of questions. I jumped into this rather quickly. My most recent project was a refresh/rebuild of my DRZ400. You can see the progress of that build here.

Before that my son and I restored/refreshed a PW80.

Soon after a friend took note and showed up at my shop with a Yamaha XS850. He wanted to do a cross between a bobber and a cafe racer, but as time goes on the bike keeps sitting and I'm having doubts if we will ever actually get to it. It's a neat project, but I think I want to go a bit "deeper" into something than he does so I decided it was maybe time to get something for myself.

Wheel Tire Land vehicle Fuel tank Automotive fuel system

I have always been a fan of the CX500. I remember the first time I really looked at one. Pretty sure it was in stock form, but the transverse (is that the right word?) V-twin really spoke to me. I also really like how self contained the engine is. The engine doesn't rely on the frame to do a lot of things, if that makes any sense. Anyways, I knew if I did one of these it would be a CX500, not realizing that there is actually a huge following for them.

As it just so happens there is one on Facebook Market Place. Here is the ad:

Font Screenshot Multimedia Electronic device Software

I showed up on my V-Star along with another buddy and took a look.
Tire Fuel tank Wheel Plant Vehicle

Wheel Tire Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive tire