Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the CXs and still learning. I've looked at topics on leaking mech seals but there aren't many Picts. I've got a coolant leak that's pretty bad. I thought it was the o-ring on the chrome tube but its coming from behind it. It's a good steady drip only when running. Here's a pict. I'm pointing to where it drips with a red straw.

It this leak because of the mech seal or is it Somethin else?

·
Registered
5,563 Posts
shep is probanly correct as per norm.

give us some history......how long has the bike been running for etc?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The bike has sat for a long time. It hasn't ran since 2007 I'm guessing. Cause that's when the registration sticker on the plate expired. I know some people say that the mech seal may reseal itself after a few miles. How many would you think? I had It idling in the garage a bit and only Took it for a spin around the block once. When I took it for a ride I noticed the temp guage stayed at cold, the radiator was cool to the touch but engine felt very warm. I pulled the it apart today and just put it back together without the thermostat. Is that ok? Also I got the bike from a friend that planned on getting it goin. His dad ended up hookin the battery charger to the battery wrong and fried most of the wiring harness. My friend already replaced the harness but there's a few things not completely correct. So I'm guessing that why the temp guage isn't workin.

·
Registered
7,223 Posts
Well, Im sure no expert but when I got my bike a rebuilt it, it had been sitting for over 25 years. Once I fixed it up I ran it and had the same problem. It would leak only when running, and about a drip per second. As the engine warmed up it slowed a bit, but didnt stop. I know its the mechanical seal as the leakage comes out a "weep hole" on the impeller caseing.