Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to bike machanics and I picked up a 1981 Gl500I silverwing. (2nd bike I've owned) I'm having some issues and I just created more and I'm lost.
Issue 1- the left cylinder is back firing and is a mix of cold and hot air. I suspected spark so I swapped the coils witch throws me to issue two.
Issue 2- After I swapped the coils I can turn the key on no issues crank the starter no issues but as soon as I put the kill switch to run all lights dim out for 3 seconds then blows the 30 amp fuse. I swapped the coils back and still dose this.
My brain is hurting from diagnosing and fixing this bike past 3 days till 2am any advice, info' or recommendations would be amazing.

·
Super Moderator
4,475 Posts
My first suggestion would be to download a copy of the factory service manual (FSM) for your bike from the wiki (see link in my signature)..
Is the fuse blowing happening while using the start button, or as soon as you turn the kill switch to on, before engaging the starter?
For the fuse to blow you have a short circuit somewhere, created during the coil swapping operation. Replace the fuse with a 12 volt test light. That will light if there is a short. Examine what you did when you switched coils, which wires were disconnected and where they were reconnected.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My first suggestion would be to download a copy of the factory service manual (FSM) for your bike from the wiki (see link in my signature)..
Is the fuse blowing happening while using the start button, or as soon as you turn the kill switch to on, before engaging the starter?
For the fuse to blow you have a short circuit somewhere, created during the coil swapping operation. Replace the fuse with a 12 volt test light. That will light if there is a short. Examine what you did when you switched coils, which wires were disconnected and where they were reconnected.