Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone here at CC has any experience or even heard of this company Chinasidecar ?

Couple of them kicking around e-bay in Canada, just don't know anybody personally or even seen one in person.

Interesting concept of rebuilding old German technology. Full load package about $4000-$4500.

·
Registered
583 Posts
I have no experience with them,

but honestly, I wouldn't touch anything motorized that was chinese-made with a ten foot pole. The metallurgy is awful.

·
Registered
2,597 Posts
I have no experience with them,

but honestly, I wouldn't touch anything motorized that was chinese-made with a ten foot pole. The metallurgy is awful.

ok i understand our bikes are jap but i am willing to bet the chinese help make it

·
Registered
583 Posts
ok i understand our bikes are jap but i am willing to bet the chinese help make it
Outsourcing is different.

I'm talking about chinese companies. I've had a chinese scooter, and chinese dirtbike. They both used ripped-off honda motors (you could actually buy some honda replacement motor parts) but were vastly inferior quality. The paint flaked, the plastic cracked, the frames were made of some sort of ultra-soft steel that would bend if you looked at it wrong....

Just not a good idea. Maybe they will get better, but as of now I would pass.

·
Registered
402 Posts
ok so these are chinese knock-offs of a Ural wich is a russian knock-off of a german bmw.... designed in the 1930's

well.... I see a trend here, next there will be a Nigerian knock-off of the Chinese-Russian-German bike that is more outdated than a current model HD.... but it is sad to say I'd rather have the China bike.

·
Registered
2,601 Posts
When our bikes were built they were still using good metals over there, nowadays there's probably 1,000 different "mixes" that can be bought from melted down surplus.

·
Registered
492 Posts