Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello this is my first post and I am really excited to be part of the group here. I have a 1980cx500 Ive been riding for about 3 years and Has been my favorite bike.
Added a windjammer vetter fairing and I love it. Have a bunch of bikes in various stages of projects (some even run!) I really enjoy working on them

Over the 3 years I have had to clean the carbs seasonally and replace the Coils the old ones would heat soak and now want to start the bike untill they cooled down.

I pulled the carb a week ago to clean for the season and that went smoothly except for installing the carb and realizing the throttle and choke cables were hanging outside the bike still. pulled and then put the carb back properly and then went to start and nothing.

Checked for spark and I got a hint of a spark for a second on one cylinder and then nothing. tested to cylinder head bolts frame bolts everywhere the cable would reach. pulled and checked the kill switch for a fault but no issues there.

Been looking online for solutions and came across this forum and what people recommend doing so far and here is what I've got so far
I tested the stator with a multimeter and these are my readings

1/5 .108
2/5 .092
3/5 .206
4/5 .109
6/5 .092
7/5 .202
9/5 .516
9/8 .076

they all seem in range except 9/5 the low speed source coil is a bit high

after that I tested the leads coming from the cdi box too see how many volts I was getting I saw that normal is around 150 and I was getting almost 0 on one side and 1.8 on the other.

Last season it was running rough towards the end but I though it was a bad batch of gas but I'm thinking that was the start of the CDI going out.

If the CDI is the case and I need to replace it the Ignitech looks like it should be a great option From what I have see it would be a good plug and play option. I really dont want to have to mess with the stator.