Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am restoring an 81 cx500c. I am an amateur, so decided to get a repair manual. Decided to take carburetors off to clean them, before receiving the repair manual. I separated the two carbs, only to find out the repair manual says its not nessasery. So I have cleaned the carbs and trying to put back together and realizing it was a huge mistake. And when I pulled them apart, a bigger spring went flying. I have no idea where it came from. Am I gonna be able to do this?

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
Which manual did you buy? I highly recommend Larry’s Carb book. If you read his book you will most likely be tearing your carbs apart again to clean them properly and you will be able to put them back together following the directions in the book. Many others here will chime in with the same sentiments.

·
Registered
GL650
414 Posts
Buy Larry's carb book. Before you do anything else. Believe me. And be ready to go slow and follow all the way through. It's intricate but after the first set you will have acquired a valuable life skill. And you'll find you probably dont have them as clean as you think. Dennis Kirk and David Silver Spares have the parts you'll need. Peace

·
Super Moderator
22,570 Posts
That spring can be manipulated back into place in a few minutes without separating the carbs again.

Takes 30 seconds if you hold your mouth right.

Pinch the spring down short and fit it to the little projection on one side and push it in to the gap.

Note that I have pointed out the choke side as this is what is visible in your photo. It actually fits in the same position on the throttle side.

·
Registered
1982 GL500i
426 Posts
Randakk's has the best replacement seal kits and instructions for these carbs, as well as petcock kits.

Reactions: Retroben

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·