Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys.

I am pretty new at this so please bear with me if I miss protocol.

I recentley bought a 650e and was taken for a ride I think. When I checked the coolant in the plastic tank, it was OK. Rode the bike for about 40km home and half way the oil light came on. It got too hot I guess. After checking the bike again, I found that the radiator was dry. I filled it up with coolant (from the radiator cap) and went for a ride. Lo and behold checked the oil when I arrived back home, condensed milk, coolant in the oil. I have am now busy to replace the top gaskets, questions are these:

How can I know which cylinder blew a gasket? I have taken off the cylinder head covers and the left hand cover has a lot more "gumk" inside than the right.

What else can cause coolant to get into the oil apart from a head gasket going or a cracket or warped cylinder head?

Lastly, I removed the cam shaft holder (on the front of the engine) and I cannot get it back in. Is there a trick or something I am missing her? It came out easily enough.

Your assistance will be greatly appreciated. I bought this bike because I really love the lines (and it fits my age:)

so I would really like to get it going again.

·
Super Moderator
'84 CX650E that is evolving into a GL500
18,418 Posts
You can sometimes figure out which head blew a gasket by looking at the spark plugs (if one has coolant on it you have the culprit) and sometimes by looking in the exhaust port. If you have removed the exhaust collector box and have separate left & right exhaust systems you can tell by which side the steam comes from.

There have been rare cases of someone blocking the water pump weep hole, usually because the mechanical seal in the pump had failed and they didn't know what the hole was for, and that allowed pressurized coolant to force its way past the camshaft oil seal.