Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 347 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, Id like to introduce myself to the board. My names Noah and I live in Santa Cruz Ca. While Im new to CX's ive been tinkering and rebuilding CB's for a few years now.

Some of you may have seen the "Ridiculous CX500 on craigslist" thread, you know, the poor 80 CX with 4 foot bars and extended seat and controls. Well That was a buddy of mine that built it for a ghetto bike show in SF. It sat in his yard for about 5 months collecting rust and spider webs, until I felt sorry for the poor thing and offered him 400 dollars for it.

I've got the title and current registration, the bike and boxes of parts he pulled off before molesting the poor thing. The bike is in good mechanical condition and ran great yesterday when I picked it up.

So, with a bonus day off from work (today the 2nd) I started tearing into it and removing all the crap that was welded to the frame.

Poor, poor bike:

Getting a good, 2hr scrub down:

I'll have to attempt some "in frame" touch up of the motor, also going to clean up the frame in spots and re spray where its needed:

Scrap metal:

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
MORE:

Started cleaning up a few pieces stripped the lever of paint and cleaned up:

And gave the carbs a little love, cleaned and verified everything is good to go, checked the jets and such. Before cleaning:

Thats all for today, I'll come back and post pics when I get more done. Thanks for looking!

·
Registered
915 Posts
Well, welcome to the forum. Thank you for saving that bike. Looked too nice to have all the 'growths' on it.

·
Registered
870 Posts
Be free little CX500!

It looks much happier with the barnacles removed.

That was a pretty funny project.

Next time he should use a mini bike, that would really look silly.

Rusty

ps I kinda think the "Kaw" tank and minimalist look should prevail.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·