Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not experienced in working on or repairing disc brakes. After removing the calipers from my GL500 and removing the pads, the pistons look really badly rusted to me (will try to attach picture). It would take a lot of sanding / polishing on these to make them smooth as new. This one has already been cleaned up a lot - it was totally covered in rust and black crud.

Are the pistons available and where? Looking at the fiches, they appear to be quite expensive (if available), and given the condition of these, I expect all the parts and seals behind them need replacing too. What is the best course of action here?

Are there packaged rebuild kits, or does one need to individually source the required parts?

Find a complete replacement pair of calipers?

I also plan to replace or rebuild the MC and replace the brake lines with SS.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I am not experienced in working on or repairing disc brakes. After removing the calipers from my GL500 and removing the pads, the pistons look really badly rusted to me (will try to attach picture). It would take a lot of sanding / polishing on these to make them smooth as new. This one has already been cleaned up a lot - it was totally covered in rust and black crud.

Are the pistons available and where? Looking at the fiches, they appear to be quite expensive (if available), and given the condition of these, I expect all the parts and seals behind them need replacing too. What is the best course of action here?

Are there packaged rebuild kits, or does one need to individually source the required parts?

Find a complete replacement pair of calipers?

I also plan to replace or rebuild the MC and replace the brake lines with SS.