Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the motorcycle world and I bought a 1979 cx500 a few years ago now as a way of learning how to ride, along with learning how to repair and do all the maintenance myself. With that said I have questions when stuff breaks down. My issue right now is my bike won't start. I turn the key and all the lights come on but it won't even try to turn over. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
Does it click when you try to start it? Even though the lights come on, the battery could still not be charged enough to start it. Have you checked voltage? Have you tried jumping the starter?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No there's no clicking. Battery should be good but I'll be checking it. When it first did it I rode from home to my ball game. Fired up no problem when I left the house then played my game and went to head home and nothing. Only lights come on and there's no sound.

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
I would check battery first and if it’s good I would jump the starter at the solenoid to make sure it’s not the starter itself.

·
Registered
1,314 Posts
Where in Canada are you located ?
There may be members close to you who could assist

Reactions: nolimitz

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ok so battery was good so I jumped the solenoid. Bike started firing so that should mean I just have a solenoid issue right? Or am I looking at something different? If so does anyone know of a good site that ships in Canada to buy parts from for older bikes?

·
Registered
1983 cx650c
1,150 Posts
I got solenoid on ebay, cheap and has modern fuse not little metal strip type. Chinese but 3yrs with no problem, kind of universal Honda item it seems. I just searched ebay on my bike, and results said it fit many Hondas.

·
Registered
1,355 Posts