Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since electrons travel on the surface of a conductor, would it be to any advantage, to use a brass tube rather than a rod?
This is also the theory behind stranded wire v. single wire.

EJ

·
Registered
42 Posts
This is also the theory behind stranded wire v. single wire.
No, stranded wire is more common because it's more flexible than a solid wire of the same gauge.

·
Registered
875 Posts
I've been working with electrical/electronic circuits for many years and never heard that electrons only flow on the surface of a conductor. In any case, since the current in ignition wires is relatively small, a tube would probably suffice. But I agree with Doug-- contact is likely better with a solid rod if the ends are cut correctly.

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
OK. I misspoke. Electrical energy flows on the spaces, outside of the wires. That's why audiophiles use wires with many, many strands of wire, when connecting the battery to their amplifiers, etc.

But, I understand the question of the spring seating to the 'tube'.

Also, I opened up my plug caps, tonight. And, measured the aluminum rod and resistor. It measured 2.135, not the 2.170 like all the info I've read, recently.
I do get spring resistance, when reinstalling. So, I'm sure there's contact with all the components. BTW, everything was remarkably clean. I think someone has changed caps, in the not-too-distant past.

EJ

·
Registered
609 Posts
OK. I misspoke. Electrical energy flows on the spaces, outside of the wires. That's why audiophiles use wires with many, many strands of wire, when connecting the battery to their amplifiers, etc.

But, I understand the question of the spring seating to the 'tube'.

Also, I opened up my plug caps, tonight. And, measured the aluminum rod and resistor. It measured 2.135, not the 2.170 like all the info I've read, recently.