Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 207 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to come clean and admit that I'm not a rider.

Not yet anyway.

Posting on the forum is a little intimidating actually.

I had a motorcycle endorsement when I was younger, and I occasionally rode motorcycles borrowed from friends (I once drove a CB750 from LA to Santa Barbara and back - a great memory).

But, I haven't been on a motorcycle in a long time.

I've never owned a motorcycle myself but the Honda CX500 is the bike I've always favored. They're just... cool. So when an unexpected opportunity presented itself totally out of the blue to buy a 1981 Custom for a really good price I pulled the trigger.

So... now I own a my first motorcycle.

Which makes me a noobie. More like a super noobie.

I'm competent with mechanical things but I'm no mechanic. I am careful, patient, and I strive to be methodical when it comes to projects. I take pride in my work. I know my limitations but I'm willing to listen and learn.

Here are some details on my '81 CX500 Custom:

The tab on the license plate is from '86. It doesn't appear to have run since then.
10k miles.
Pretty sure the bike was stored inside away from the elements.
Shows oil on the dipstick.
I can see coolant in the bottom of the recovery tank.

Some general observations:

Needs new tires of course.
No keys - needs new ignition module I assume.
Petcock is seized up.
Gas tank is extremely rusty.
Front brake inoperable and master cylinder is bone dry.
No handle grips.
I think the front alignment is messed up.
Battery is shot but electrical wiring looks pretty good.

Clues indicate the bike was put down on the left side:

Left headlight bracket bent.
Left front turn signal bracket is busted off, turn signal lamp missing.
Rear grab bar busted, left rear signal lamp busted off (but I have it).
Left air box scratched up.
Motor protection bar (after market I think) on the left side bent in (but not touching cylinder).