Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!! I've acquired a silverwing and im trying to restore it and get it running! I've replaced the spark plugs and the caps. I've got new handlebar switches ordered and I ditched the fairing. I'll attach photos at the end up but the ignition issue may be the coils. I tested for spark with an in line spark tester and the old fashion way grounding it to the engine. I have no spark! I thought it was my caps initially since I know the resistor can be bad and they were the originals. Had to order them from Germany. Still no spark. Did some other component testing. The stator checked good and so did the caps and wires. I did continuity on the later and checked each terminal for the stator to ground (check for a short) and then I checked each one to another and they all read the same ohm reading. Now I'm just a baby electrical mechanic and new to small engines this is my second "rebuild" if you can call it that lol. I did a 83 Suzukimatic gs450. I couldn't find an adequate amount video to show the proper way to test my coils, and then I can't seem to find any close to oem to replace them with they are all too short/ dual lead. So can I just do one dual coil for like a gl1000 and call it a day or do I need to find two bigger single leads? Also I found the testing methods on good ol YouTube, and I have a printed copy of the original service manual and schematic. IMG_20191104_181122_417_1572916344008.jpg

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
20,784 Posts
Do you have 12 volt getting to the coils?

You can't use dual lead coils on these. The firing intervals don't line up like a parallel twin or similar. You need two separate coils.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm not sure, like I said I couldn't figure out how to do a proper component test on them or in circuit checks. Pointers would be appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
20,784 Posts