Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to the bike world having just bought my first bike. Loving it so far, but I'm experiencing some issues with my ride.

It doesn't idle quite right, sometimes bogging down and even dying at stoplights occasionally. I took a video of it which can be seen here.

From the research I've done so far, it would seem that I'm probably due for a carb rebuild, although the guy I bought it from supposedly did that and rejetted them before selling to me.

At any rate, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks and have a great weekend.

-CB

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey, thanks for the reply! Pulling the choke out makes it idle up and then it doesn't sputter. Not sure if that helps, but I can imagine the carbs need to be rebuilt, or at least cleaned. I'll be posting pics later tonight or sometime this week.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm not sure if I have an air box and filter. Last time I took the seat off I was replacing the regulator and wasn't paying much attention :D

I'll look at it tonight or sometime later this week and let you know.

·
Super Moderator
'84 CX650E that is evolving into a GL500
15,759 Posts
1) The fastest way to tell if the air cleaner is there is to remove the right side cover and see if it is there. You should see a big black box with a rubber intake (sort of scoop shaped but with the opening pointing to the rear) mounted in a round plastic part. You turn the plastic part counterclockwise to open it and then pull it outward (sometimes they are hard to turn & to pull out) and there should be a cylindrical filter inside.

2) Assuming you have an air filter, how dirty is it? A really dirty filter can make a bike do that....

3) Did the seller say why he "rejetted" it? The exhaust looks stock. If it has the stock filter too there is no reason to rejet unless you live at a high altitude...