Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 313 Posts

·
Registered
1978 honda cx500
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there everyone, im new here and this is actually the first forum ive ever joined with these old bikes. Usually YouTube videos or reading other posts on these forums have been able to help me enough to get by, but im stumped right now so im reaching out. Im a bit of an amateur mechanic, so i should be able to attempy any repairs myself.

Ok so i have a 79 cx500 i bought at a great deal about a year ago, and it is my first big project to learn more about motorcycles. Its been an ongoing project whenever i have time off from work, the engine wasnt rebuilt at all, but i did flush everything thoroughly because it had been sitting for a few years prior. All new fluids have added, new parts have been wired and today was the day i got to finally take her out for a spin. Well, it was running beautifully at first, for about 20 minutes, the idle was at about 2k which was high but the idle screw on the carb didnt seem to be changing it at all.

After that 20 minute mark it began misfiring constantly and died. And anytime i attempted starting it, it would missfire and die, i couldnt get it to idle again. I come to find out the right cylinder isnt firing at all, i plugged the boots out one at a time and attempted starting the bike, and when the right boot was removed the bike instantly fired up and would idle, roughly but still stayed on with almost no choke. I switched the wires to the coils to see if the problem would switch to the other cylinder, and it did not. It wouldnt even start at all when the pink and yellow wires were switched.