Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got my first bike last week, 79 cx500 Custom. Having problem with overheating, come close (and today actually hit) red one temp guage after about 10 miles of city driving, limited stop and start, quite sure it is overheating and not a false reading as I feels very hot and I could smell a strong sent of antifreeze. I am really new to motorcycles and have limited car engine repair experience. I have run a flush agent through and refilled with 50/50 coolant / distilled water mix. I have read several forums but can't get past the real basics. Issues of, what is this deal about making sure not air is in system and where to get info on how to change thermostat. My common sense is good but experience is minimum. Open to any advise is your are willing to work with this very old, new guy. thanks

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
Just got my first bike last week, 79 cx500 Custom. Having problem with overheating, come close (and today actually hit) red one temp guage after about 10 miles of city driving, limited stop and start, quite sure it is overheating and not a false reading as I feels very hot and I could smell a strong sent of antifreeze. I am really new to motorcycles and have limited car engine repair experience. I have run a flush agent through and refilled with 50/50 coolant / distilled water mix. I have read several forums but can't get past the real basics. Issues of, what is this deal about making sure not air is in system and where to get info on how to change thermostat. My common sense is good but experience is minimum. Open to any advise is your are willing to work with this very old, new guy. thanks